painting: a horseshoe, and a daisy still life

with a little luck

 I zeroed in on the lovely shoe on this horse because it seemed unusual to me–extra flattened as though long worn. The horse was a draft breed, who appeared used to working. Horseshoes are symbols of good fortune, and I love to paint them! That little hint of tail swoosh brings it all together. I painted from a reference photo shared by Erica Fisher-Metzel.8″x10″ oil on cradled wood board, available in my Etsy shop, here. SOLD, thank you!

stillness

The daisies really pop, while the dark background creates a moody atmosphere. I think flower paintings are a great alternative to bouquets–a year-round reminder of a special day! I painted from a reference photo shared by Petra Mathews. 12″x12″ oil on cradled wood board. Available here.

Leave a comment