making something pretty: a finish!

I forgot to link to the pattern I used to make my shawl. It’s this one. Remember I went to the knit shop and picked out the pattern because I saw a finished example on the wall. When I went to buy the pattern, the shop owner logged on to Ravelry for me and downloaded the pattern right there and printed it for me. A link to the pattern was sent to my email address, too, in case I needed a re-print.

So what I didn’t realize when I looked at it on the wall, is that the finished shawl is pretty small. I would call it a scarf more than a shawl. You can see that if you look at Ravelry page and the other images of finished products being posed.

But I’m glad I did it and I’m glad it’s finished because now I can work on something else. 😀

I took a photo of the reverse side, darn it. How did I not notice when taking the photo? You can see the pretty color gradations in the yarn, though.

knitback2

Here’s an example of the beadwork. Yay, I now know how to add beads to knitting.

knitbeads

I ran out of beads about 20 beads from the end, so I had to adjust my placement to hide the fact. Isn’t that life?

knitbeads2

So it’s a child-sized shawl, or an adult sized scarf. Frankly this was waaaaay too much work for a scarf! It took me 3 weeks of evenings, and that’s just too much time. And probably some weekend afternoons in there, too! The shawl is showing the reverse side in this photo, too, drat. It really is pretty lacework on the front side. You can see that in close ups above.

knitwhole

Leave a comment