quilting: big top quilt

Wow, did this one turn out different than I envisioned. That’s why I’m calling it my Big Top quilt (as in, circus). I wanted to use colors I never use, and what better pretty combo than yellow/red/aqua? I really should have added half white, but my personal challenge here was to leave out the white so the colors just shout.

I guess I was trying to do something different (really different) than what I usually do. And I wanted to use prints that speak of current trends, to mark the decade this quilt was made, hence the use of the chevron fabric. I don’t think chevrons have ever been so popular as now.

First, though, arranging the blocks.

I could have arranged the blocks like this:

quiltrund

But I’ve got several other drunkard’s path quilts, so I didn’t want to do that again. Plus, on such a small scale (the finished size is 45″x54″ I thought the circles were just too big. Too big for what? Well, just too big.

So I went with a standard fan arrangement.

quiltdone

I tried to use the fancy stitching on my machine to do some top-stitching. I used a variety of settings, and some worked better than others.

This one worked not at all. What the heck?

quiltbleah

While these two turned out much prettier.

quilt4

quiltclose

The size is just right to fit the kitchen table as a table cloth and use now, but in the back of my mind I picture using it in the vintage travel trailer I will one day own. It’s just right for using in a restored airstream, to add a bright pop of color and joy.

quiltfinished

Now I just need to add backing and binding and it’s done. I have no idea what I want to back it with right now, though. Flannel? A somber color? One day the right fabric (at the right price) will just jump out at me. Hopefully soon….

2 thoughts on “quilting: big top quilt

Leave a comment