finished Asian fabric quilt

quiltoncouch Yay, I am so glad to have another quilt finished this year! And it’s still January! Two full-sized quilts done! quiltonbed That bed photo is a little misleading, the quilt does not pull entirely over the pillows but only half their height. You can see the quilt hangs about six inches over the foot of the bed, though, so really it is the entire length of a queen sized bed, and hangs about six inches over either side. The quilt measures 71″x71″ before washing, and will probably shrink a couple inches after washing. japanquiltfull Here you can see most of the fabrics. I tried to alternate light/dark circles and outsides, but the mid-tones sort of muddled it up a little. The fabrics all look sumptuous

    sump·tu·ous [suhmp-choo-uhs] adjective 1. entailing great expense, as from choice materials, fine work, etc.; costly: a sumptuous residence. 2. luxuriously fine or large; lavish; splendid: a sumptuous feast.

with deep colors, reflective gold, and richly detailed patterns. japanquiltclose1 The photos do not do this quilt justice, there is no way to capture how pretty all the fabrics are. In the above photo, you can see I hand-quilted through each “square” in an X pattern. japanquiltclose5 japanquiltclose2 japanquiltclose3 The bird fabric is my favorite. You just can’t go wrong with little birds. japanquiltclose4 Here you can see the rich colors. This quilt is just soooo pretty. I am going to list it in my etsy shop, here. SOLD  The reverse side has a Japanese-esque print. I say Japanese-esque because it was listed at the fabric shop as a 1920s print. I don’t think it looks like that, except insofar as the 1920s borrowed a lot of Asian themes and appearances. greenjapanesefabric If I knew someone getting married, I’d give this one as a wedding gift. It is definitely sophisticated.

2 thoughts on “finished Asian fabric quilt

Leave a comment